National Volunteer Week

National Volunteer Week

Celebrated annually in May, National Volunteer Week (NVW) is the largest celebration of volunteers and volunteerism in Australia.  The week provides an opportunity to highlight the role of volunteers in our communities.  NVW provides the platform to pay tribute to the more than 6 million Australians who volunteer their time and expertise.

The National Volunteer Week theme in 2024, Something for Everyone, recognises the diverse passions and talents everyone brings to the act of volunteering.

It’s an invitation to explore the myriad opportunities available, emphasising that there’s a place for everyone in the world of volunteering. Whether you’re drawn to environmental causes, community outreach, education, or beyond, there’s a place where your unique skills and interests can flourish.

Let’s come together during National Volunteer Week, embracing this theme to showcase the vast spectrum of possibilities and the transformative impact that emerges when everyone finds their meaningful role in making a difference.


Volunteer South West will once again hold an event, thanks to Lotterywest and Volunteering WA and our local partners Investing in Our Youth, EdConnect, Cancer Council Relay for Life and the Dolphin Discovery Centre. The Bunbury Mantra Lighthouse has kindly offered us their Ocean View Room to hold our Sunset Soiree – A Celebration of Volunteering. The celebration, held against the stunning backdrop of Back Beach and the Bunbury Lighthouse, will include live music, delicious food and beverages in the Ocean View Room of the Lighthouse Mantra, as the sun sets.

Invitation to the Sunset Soiree – A Celebration of Volunteering
Register (with individual contact details) at this link:

Registrations need to be received by FRIDAY 5 MAY.


We encourage you to nominate up to two of your volunteers for the South West Volunteer of the Year award and/or the South West Youth Volunteer of the Year award (24 years and under). This year, for the first time ever, we invite you to put forward a special South West Volunteer Leader of the Year. We know that without positive leadership and mentoring  in our community it would be impossible to build a strong volunteer base and keep them engaged.

NOMINATIONS CLOSE 5pm Monday 29 April 2024.

To nominate a volunteer click on the links below:

South West Volunteer of the Year (25 years and older)
One exceptional individual will be named South West Volunteer of the Year

South West Youth Volunteer of the Year (24 years and under)
An inspiring young person (24 years and under) will be named South West Youth Volunteer of the Year

South West Volunteer Leader of the Year (all ages)
A new award for Volunteer Leader of the Year will recognise someone who empowers and motivates their volunteers and provides quality volunteer experiences within their organisation.

NOMINATIONS CLOSE 5pm Monday 29 April 2024.

Each year we have exceptional people nominated and look forward to a high standard of volunteers and volunteer leaders being nominated again this year. Join Volunteer South West as we recognise the remarkable dedication of volunteers across the Bunbury Geographe region and the leaders who keep them motivated and engaged this National Volunteer Week.
We are grateful to our member organisations and sponsors for their invaluable support in making this event a resounding success each year. Together, we want to honour, celebrate, and express our deepest appreciation to the individuals who embody the spirit of service in our community.